Exploring the World of Trail Running

I signed up for another trail run race, this time it’s the NYC Trail Fest which takes place on May 31st. I’ll be doing another 10K; other routes I could have chosen from are 5K, 50K, and Half Marathon. I think I’ll do a few more 10K races before I move up to longer distances.

This time I have a better idea of what I am getting myself into, especially after having Big Bear SquaTCh as my introduction to trail running. It prepared me to face rugged and technical terrains. I know this race will present its own set of challenges, but I don’t think it will be as difficult as Big Bear. Even if it is, I have more than a month to train and get ready for whatever comes my way.

I am enjoying trail running thus far. One reason is because it makes me be present; I can’t zone out even if I wanted to. I have to be in the moment and watch every step I take, creating this mindfulness practice my friend Wendy speaks about. I also like the challenge some trails offer and being surrounded by nature. Lastly, it feels more relaxed than road running; you are less worried about your data and more about the trail. That’s just my observation, but I am still a newbie to the sport. Regardless of road or trail running, I will be doing both, but I think I will participate in more trail running races than road.

Are you a runner? Do you prefer road or trail running, and why?

Leave a comment